Section Menu


There are 16 members of the ABA Council. The Council is led by the Chairman, Andrew Thorburn, National Australia Bank Group Chief Executive, and the Deputy Chairman, Mike Hirst, Managing Director, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank. The ABA’s Council provides guidance and leadership to the ABA on policy issues which affect the banking and financial sector.

ABA Council members

AMP Bank Limited  Sally Bruce
ANZ Banking Group Limited Shayne Elliott
Australian Bankers’ Association Anna Bligh
Bank Australia
Damien Walsh
Bank of Queensland Limited Jon Sutton
Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited Mike Hirst
Citigroup Pty Ltd David Livingstone
Commonwealth Bank of Australia Ian Narev
HSBC Bank Australia Limited Martin Tricaud
ING Bank (Australia) Limited Uday Sareen
Macquarie Bank Limited Mary Reemst
Members Equity Bank Pty Limited
Jamie McPhee
National Australia Bank Limited Andrew Thorburn
Rabobank Australia Limited Peter Knoblanche
Suncorp-Metway Limited David Carter
Westpac Banking Corporation Brian Hartzer

As at 25/11/2016

What’s new

Landmark reform package
11 Dec 2017
Read the full landmark reform package that will improve consumer outcomes and confidence in mortgage broking, prepared by the Combined Industry Forum.
Download PDF

ABA blog

Banking Code signals new era of rebuilding trust
Anna Bligh, Chief Executive, Australian Bankers' Association
Read more 2 Jan 2018

Latest tweets