Australian Bankers' Association Inc.

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • print this page
  • email a friend

About Us


There are 15 members of the ABA Council. The Council is led by the Chairman, Gail Kelly, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Westpac Group, and the Deputy Chairman, Mike Hirst, Managing Director, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank. The ABA’s Council provides guidance and leadership to the ABA on policy issues which affect the banking and financial sector.

ABA Council members

AMP Bank Limited  Michael Lawrence
ANZ Banking Group Limited Michael Smith
Australian Bankers’ Association Steven Münchenberg
Bank of Queensland Limited Stuart Grimshaw
Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited Mike Hirst
Citigroup Pty Ltd Stephen Roberts
Commonwealth Bank of Australia Ian Narev
HSBC Bank Australia Limited Tony Cripps
ING Bank (Australia) Limited Vaughn Richtor
Members Equity Bank Pty Limited
Jamie McPhee
National Australia Bank Limited Cameron Clyne
Rabobank Australia Limited Thos Gieskes
Suncorp-Metway Limited John Nesbitt
Westpac Banking Corporation Gail Kelly

As at 20/03/2014


ASIC has a website to help you make smart choices about money. For more information about managing your money, you can read this article or visit Money Smart.

MoneySmart website

Scam Alert

The Australian Bankers’ Association is warning of a telephone survey scam which is falsely using the ABA’s name in an attempt to de-fraud bank customers.